Believed to be the oldest house in the village, with origins dating back to the mid 1500 s, this is a wonderful example of a handsome period property with a wealth of charming, character features.
The original main house has the classic exposed timber framed and plaster walls, beamed wooden ceilings and original exposed brick walls and fireplaces all synonymous with a Tudor property. There are later editions to the ground floor thereby creating the dining room, the study, the downstairs guest bedroom and en-suite bathroom, plus the Sun room and the Utility/Boot rooms. Different levels, exposed brick fireplaces, latched wooden doors and leaded windows set the scene and will be truly appreciated by those seeking a depth of character and history, as formerly, we understand that the house has been used as a bakery, blacksmiths, grocery shop, and ale house!
Nonetheless, the house has been modernised to offer two contemporary bathrooms and a fitted kitchen with a range cooker, a built in dishwasher and butlers sink. The current owners have also had secondary glazing placed on all the windows. There is a beautiful old polished wood parquet floor in the breakfast room which has French doors opening onto the patio. The sitting room, with double aspect windows, boasts a former bread oven to the side of the inglenook fireplace. The Utility and Boot room tucked away to the side of the house provide practical working space for laundry and storage. Upstairs, there are three generous sized bedrooms, two with fitted wardrobes, and a family bathroom.
*450 yards from Clandon train station
*Secondary glazing throughout
*West facing rear garden